Skip to content

Work with animals in a range of rewarding careers

Turn your love of animals into a rewarding career in animal care. Get the skills you need to work in a veterinary practice, pet shop, animal welfare organisation, boarding kennel, or pet grooming service. Learn about animal first aid, capture, restraint and handling of various animals, clinical pathology laboratory procedures, assisting with surgery, and veterinary reception. Our animal studies courses cover laboratory technology, biotechnology, companion animals, and wildlife. Gain practical skills as you study in our state-of-the-art Veterinary and Applied Science Centre, one of the largest centres of its type anywhere in Australia.

If you love animals, we have the course for you.

* Eligibility criteria applies. See course details to check if you meet the requirements for funding.

PETSinTuition Veterinary Clinic

TAFE SA’s very own Veterinary Clinic, PETSinTuition provides students with the opportunity to practice their skills under Veterinarian supervision in our modern clinic located at our Gilles Plains campus. TAFE SA is the only provider delivering the Certificate IV in Veterinary Nursing qualification in South Australia, and also has an on-campus Veterinary Clinic. It includes a fully functioning veterinary clinic with surgery, dental and radiology suite, a pathology demonstration theatre with CCTV monitors, facilities for animal holding, grooming and plenty of room to move. We are registered and open to the public for consultations and surgeries.

PETSinTuition is an environment where students are supported and encouraged with growing their knowledge, skills and confidence to go out into the industry. Know your animals will be given the highest level of care in a professional and safe environment.

Learn more

The Veterinary and Applied Science Centre

The state-of-the-art Veterinary and Applied Science Centre is 5,000 square metres and is one of the largest purpose-built applied science and animal industries training centres anywhere in Australia. It includes a fully functioning veterinary clinic with surgery and radiology suite, a pathology demonstration theatre with CCTV monitors, and facilities for animal holding and grooming.

Develop the skills and knowledge you need with TAFE SA.

Virtual Tour - Veterinary and Applied Science Centre

TAFE SA Animal Ethics Committee 

TAFE SA is required by legislation to have an Animal Ethics Committee (AEC), as it uses animals for teaching purposes. The legislation (Animal Welfare Act 1985) is administered by the Department for Environment and Water which issues the licences held by TAFE SA to allow animals to be used for teaching or research purposes in South Australia.  

The role of the Animal Ethics Committee is to ensure that all TAFE SA programs using animals for teaching purposes abide by The Act and operate in accordance with the Australian Code of Practice for the Care and Use of Animals for Scientific Purposes 2013 (administered by the Australian Government National Health and Medical Research Council). 

Back to Top