Skip to content

TAFE SA Board of Directors

TAFE SA is a statutory corporation owned by the South Australian Government. The Board of Directors is charged with building the TAFE SA brand, growing the reputation for quality, and achieving specific targets and outcomes.


Ms Joanne Denley (Chair)

Ms Denley has been a TAFE SA board director since 1 November 2012 and has contributed greatly to quality improvements in TAFE SA. She is a professional and experienced business advisor and independent board director with strong management and leaderships skills. She is highly experienced in human resources and risk management and has a depth of understanding of the TAFE sector.

Paul Brock

Paul Brock

Mr Brock has many years of leadership experience including CEO for more than 10-years at Carey Training and Carey Group Training, as well as 7 years as Manager at Adelaide Training and Employment Centre (ATEC). Paul is also the Managing Director of Ganbara Facility Services, a majority Aboriginal owned organisation which delivers facility management services and has a strong focus on creating employment opportunities for Aboriginal people and other disadvantaged groups. He has also been appointed to both the Ministerial Advisory Committee: VET for School Students and the SA Skills Commission in 2021.


Michael Boyce OAM

For 15 years, Mr Boyce OAM was the Chief Executive of PEER, a not-for-profit Registered Training Organisation that delivers nationally accredited training packages. Following this, he chaired the SA Training and Skills Commission for four years and was recently appointed to the Board of MEGT, Australia’s largest and only national Apprenticeship Network Provider. Michael was awarded an Order of Australia Medal for his services to Vocational Training in 2018.


Dr Jen Cleary

Dr Cleary has extensive expertise and knowledge of rural, regional and remote social and economic development. She has a background spanning vocational and higher education, regional, rural and remote research, development, social services and social policy and is currently the CEO of Centacare Catholic Country SA.

Ms Judy Curran

Ms Curran has extensive executive experience across a wide range of assisted health and community services. As Group Chief Executive of the Can:Do Group and Chief Executive of SCOSA, Ms Curran has overseen major organisational change. She has highly developed corporate governance skills and has led cultural change within complex organisations.

Dr Craig Fowler

Dr Fowler has recently held the position of Managing Director for the National Centre for Vocational Education Research, and brings significant knowledge and understanding of the vocational education sector.

Mr David Hughes

Mr Hughes is a former Chief Financial Officer at Homestart Finance and has held Chief Financial Officer positions over many years with organisations operating in both the For Profit and Not For Profit sectors and operating both nationally and internationally. He also brings many years of experience in implementing and managing large and complex IT systems domestically and internationally.


Ms Julieann Riedstra

Ms Riedstra has had a well-established career in the public sector in South Australia and most recently was the Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer of the Department for Education. Julieann is currently the President of Zoos SA and Chair of the Department for Environment and Water Performance and Risk Committee.


Mr Sam Scammell

Mr Scammell has more than 30 years’ experience as a practising lawyer and as a senior executive providing business mentoring and transformation services as well as specialties in financials, governance, risk and compliance to the Board.

Ministerial Representatives

Appointed under Section 8 of the Public Corporations Act 1993 to attend the meetings of the Board.

Department for Education


Department of Treasury & Finance

Ms Jane Burton - Director, Account Management is the Treasurer’s representative on the TAFE SA Board of Directors.

Back to Top