Skip to content

Congratulations to the winners of the 2023 TAFE SA Honour Awards

We’re delighted to introduce the remarkable winners of the 2023 TAFE SA Honour Awards.

Nine award winners were announced on Wednesday 22 November 2023 at an exclusive ceremony at Adelaide Town Hall, hosted by The Right Honourable The Lord Mayor of Adelaide, Dr Jane Lomax-Smith AM.

There were seven winners across the award categories, and two joint winners of the Chief Executive Award.

Congratulations to all our talented winners.

Future Industries Award

Winner: Stefan Koliopoulos 

The Future Industries Award was presented to Stefan Koliopoulos (he/him), the dedicated owner of Artisan Joinery, a thriving architectural cabinet-making business. Stefan and his team collaborate with the state’s leading builders and deliver exceptional joinery, winning the prestigious 2022 Housing Industry Association Cabinet Maker of the Year Award and the 2022 New Kitchen Over $85,000 Award.

Stefan Koliopoulos

Creative Catalyst Award

Winner: David Paul Turley

David Turley (he/him) received the Creative Catalyst Award in recognition of his work as an international producer, songwriter, artist manager, mentor, and artist. With over 25 years of experience working in the music industry, David has had recording and publishing contracts in multiple countries including the UK, Germany, and Australia.

David Paul Turley

Regional Impact Award

Winner: Kym Masters

Artisan cheesemaker and successful business owner Kym Masters (he/him) won the Regional Impact Award. Together with his wife, Kym is the founder of ‘Section28 Artisan Cheeses,’ an Adelaide-Hills-based company that has achieved national and international acclaim. Under his leadership, ‘Section28 Artisan Cheeses’ has established a national leadership position in the production of raw milk cheeses.  

Kym Masters

Courageous Spirit Award

Winner: Erfanullah Abidi

Refugee Ambassador Erfanullah Abidi (he/him) received the Courageous Spirit Award in recognition of his work as an interpreter and cultural advisor in Afghanistan before the Taliban takeover, and for his dedicated work for the Refugee Council of Australia, Amicus Global, the Adelaide Rotary Club, and the Afghan community since migrating to Adelaide in August 2021. Erfanullah is also an organiser of underground schools for girls in Afghanistan.

Erfanullah Abidi

Enriching Communities Award

Winner: Kiara Murphy

Kiara Murphy (she/her) was recognised with the Enriching Communities Award for her work at Deaf Butterfly Effect as an advocate, organiser, and administrator. Most recently, Kiara was an organiser of flagship events ‘Deaf Gain’ and ‘Deaf Festival’ during the National Week of Deaf People 2023. She aspires to empower the Deaf community and to contribute to literature about Deaf culture and identity.

Kiara Murphy

Cultural Leadership Award

Winner: Faheem Shams

The Cultural Leadership Award was presented to Faheem Shams (he/him) for his work in championing community integration and inclusivity through art, advocacy, and a range of community initiatives. Faheem is the founder of Silverline Films, the former president of Sindhi Sangat South Australia, and the founder of disability support organisation KAYA.

Faheem Shams

City of Adelaide Award

Winner: Stephanie James-Manttan

Stephanie James-Manttan (she/her) won the City of Adelaide Award, selected by the Lord Mayor. Stephanie is a highly acclaimed ceramicist and has exhibited in commercial and public galleries nationally. She was formerly the Head of the Ceramics Studio at JamFactory, where she enhanced the business capabilities of the facility whilst promoting cultural diversity and professional development opportunities.

Stephanie James-Manttan

Chief Executive Award

The Chief Executive Award is an overall winner selected by the Chief Executive from the finalists across the categories. This year the CE selected joint winners, Orlando Gazzola and Jesikah Logan.

Winner: Orlando Gazzola

Orlando Gazzola (he/him) was awarded the Chief Executive Award in recognition of his exemplary work at Kennewell CNC Machining, where he produces precision parts, solves complex machining problems, and trains other employees. After hours, Orlando helps run the family dairy farm at Jervois, where he milks cows and operates heavy farm equipment.

Orlando Gazzola

Winner: Jesikah Logan

Jesikah Logan (she/her) was awarded the Chief Executive Award for her work on projects that advance cancer research and treatments. Jesikah is a Clinical Research Manager and Senior Clinical Trials Coordinator at the Royal Adelaide Hospital. She is passionate about contributing to our scientific understanding of cancer treatments, as well as positive outcomes for cancer patients and their communities.

Jesikah Logan

Congratulations to all the 2023 winners!

Honour award winners 2023


Back to Top