JobTrainer is a $88 million investment by the state and federal governments in skills and training to support school leavers, job seekers and young people, including those affected by COVID-19.

JobTrainer Courses

JobTrainer Eligibility

To be eligible for access to low-fee training through JobTrainer, you’ll need to be;

  • Not currently employed, or
  • Aged between 17 and 24 years and not enrolled in school, or
  • Hold a Health Care, Pensioner or Veteran Affairs concession card

You will also need to meet the eligibility criteria for subsidised training

Subsidised Training

You may be eligible for government subsidised training based on your employment and training level. 

You may be eligible for subsidised training if you live or work in South Australia, and you are:

  • an Australian or New Zealand citizen
  • a permanent Australian resident, or
  • an eligible visa holder 

and are:

  • 16 years or over and not enrolled at school, or
  • 16 years or over, enrolled in school and undertaking training through the Training Guarantee for SACE Students (TGSS), or
  • undertaking training through a training contract as an apprentice or trainee in an identified course.


Eligible people may access:

  • one foundation skills course (if you are assessed to need it)
  • up to five bridging units at every qualification level (if assessed to need them)
  • unlimited priority courses.

Based on your training and employment level, you may also access the following:

Highest accredited non-school qualification at first enrolment Accessible courses
No qualification or an unemployed job seeker who is registered with an Employment Service Provider
  • one certificate II course
  • two courses from certificate III to advanced diploma level
Qualification up to certificate II level
  • two courses from certificate III to advanced diploma level
Completed a certificate III or above (including university qualifications)
  • one course from certificate III to advanced diploma level

You can enrol in a maximum of two subsidised courses at a time. 


For full details, including visa eligibility, please see the Skills SA website.

  • VISA Eligibility

    In addition to all permanent residency visa holders, the following temporary visa are eligible for subsidised training:

    • Skilled – Work Regional (subclass 491)
    • Skilled – Regional (Provisional) Visa (subclass 489)
    • Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (subclass 494)
    • Business Innovation and Investment (Provisional) Visa, subclass 188
    • Safe Haven Enterprise Visa (SHEV), subclass 790
    • Bridging Visa E (BE), subclass 050 and 051
    • Temporary Protection Visa (TPV), subclass 785
    • Bridging Visa F (BVF), subclass 060
    • Partner Visa (Temporary), subclass 820 and 309

    Visa holders on the following repealed provisional visas are also eligible for subsidised training:

    • Skilled – Regional (Provisional) Visa (subclass 489)
    • Skilled – Regional Sponsored Visa (subclass 475)
    • Skilled – Regional Sponsored Visa (subclass 487)
    • Skilled Independent – Regional (Provisional) Visa (subclass 495)
    • Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (Permanent) Visa (subclass 187)
    • Senior Executive (Provisional) Visa (subclass 161)
    • Investor (Provisional) Visa (subclass 162)
    • State/Territory Sponsored Business Owner (Provisional) Visa, subclass 163
    • State/Territory Sponsored Senior Executive (Provisional) Visa, subclass 164
    • State/Territory Sponsored Investor (Provisional) Visa, subclass 165

    To check your visa type, visit the Department of Home Affairs.
    To check any work or study entitlement conditions attached to your visa, visit the Australian Government’s Visa Entitlement Verification Online service.

Back to Top