TAFE SA news

TAFE SA Excellence Awards 2015

Jun 09, 2015

The TAFE SA Excellence Awards are conducted annually to recognise and acknowledge excellence in the provision of quality education and training service by our staff. 'Excellent' or 'Outstanding' service includes service above and beyond the normal requirements of the position or sustained high level performance by an individual or team with a focus on outcomes and recognisable benefits to TAFE SA clients and the workplace. A People’s Choice Award was introduced this year which allowed TAFE SA staff the opportunity to vote for their winner from our finalists, a category that has proven popular, with nearly 700 votes received.

Winners of each category were announced at the 2015 TAFE SA Excellence Awards Gala Ceremony held at Graduates Restaurant (Regency Campus) on Monday 25 May. The evening also afforded us the opportunity to showcase the talents of TAFE SA students from; Performing Arts, Music and Sound Production, Film and TV, Hospitality, Food and Beverage and Floristry. Over 110 invited guests including; the Chief Executive, members of the Executive team, Board members, nominators, managers, finalists and families enjoyed the evening and helped celebrate the achievements of our staff.

Our 2015 TAFE SA Excellence Award finalists and winners are:


Winner Tom Quigley - Tom is the Business Operations Manager for the Community Services Health & Lifestyle (CSH&L) Business Unit. CSH&L is one of the largest Business Units with staff located across more than 20 campuses and many off-campus training sites Tom’s depth of knowledge, leverage of strong relationships with individuals in our organisation, experience in, and contribution to the complex trouble shooting coupled with his ability to lead and foster change has ensured CSH&L are positioned to operate as effectively and efficiently as possible.

Excellence In Leadership Finalists Excellence In Leadership Winner

L to R: Tom Quigley, Nick Howie, Toni Scarlett, Stephanie Wade, Jen Zhao

John O’Dea – Chief Financial Officer TAFE SA presenting Tom with his award


Winner Shan Pasupathy - Shan is a Senior Lecturer in the Financial Services unit. Shan has a demonstrated capacity for innovation in both educational delivery and the design of Moodle based systems to support TAFE SA’s training service provision. His innovative activities spanning several years have led to recognition of Financial Services as a leader in innovation in TAFE SA and rapid growth in student numbers and revenue for this program between 2012 and 2015. Shan has also developed and currently runs several online short courses in corporate training.

Excellence In Innovation Finalists Excellence In Innovation Winner

L to R: Management Studies, Helen Jansson, Shan Pasupathy, Advanced Building Studies Team

Ms Joanne Denley – TAFE SA Board presenting Shan with his award


Winner Julie Pisano - Julie is an active member of the Management Studies Program. She is engaged as a senior lecturer specialising in working with industry, constructing and delivering customised fee for service programs. Her ability to build strong networks with industry bodies has led to outcomes which include 98% success rate in customer satisfaction over a 2 year period, exposure to facilities (e.g. BAE Systems, Prime Defence industries) and generation of large income to TAFE SA. Her collaborative efforts will position TAFE SA to continue to meet both the sector and State's strategic needs.

Excellence In Industry Collaboration Finalists Excellence In Industry Collaboration Winner

L to R: Michael Vilbro, Julie Pisano

Ms Annette Hurley – TAFE SA Board presenting Julie with her award


Winners Con Theologou and Samantha Bastian

Con who is based at our Whyalla Campus is regarded as a “quiet achiever”. Con has continually striven to overcome the barriers that distance can play within the small business community. His leadership and ability to quickly respond to customer needs are to be commended. He continually seeks to motivate and engage his team and maintain a vast network of industry clients.Con who is based at our Whyalla Campus is regarded as a “quiet achiever”. Con has continually striven to overcome the barriers that distance can play within the small business community. His leadership and ability to quickly respond to customer needs are to be commended. He continually seeks to motivate and engage his team and maintain a vast network of industry clients.

Samantha is a Program Support Officer for Primary Industries Animal and Laboratory Sciences (PIALS). Samantha demonstrates best practice in customer service to both external and internal clients through her ability to work under pressure and deal with the complex intricacies that go with working with diverse specialist lecturers. Her pro-activeness and organisational skills allow her to keep customer’s needs at the fore front and achieve outcomes.

Excellence In Customer Service Finalists Excellence In Customer Service Winners

L to R: Con Theologou, Samantha Bastian, Peter Dinnison, Karen Moore

Ms Noelene Buddle– TAFE SA Board presenting Con and Samantha with their awards


Winner Roxby Downs Campus Team - The Roxby Downs Campus team are an example of what teamwork and collegiality represent. Despite being one of our most isolated campuses, this team is a credit to our organisation. Being isolated means lecturing staff are constantly visiting to fulfil training requirements, the staff are always welcomed and their wellbeing is catered for by the caring staff on site. Nothing is too onerous. This sense of community and knowing their requests/concerns will be promptly dealt with has also engendered a relationship of trust with our local clients.

  Excellence In Team Work Finalists Excellence In Team Work Winner

Finalists (representing teams)
L to R: Colin Grantham - Roxby Downs Campus, Santi Rulz - Information Technology Systems Improvements, Lachlan Harris - Dubai Tender

Ms Miriam Silva– TAFE SA Board presenting the team with their award L to R: Miriam Silva, Natasha McGee, Colin Grantham, Lisa Johnson, Lia O’Connor, Ken Rapsey


Winner Nigel Plaskett - Nigel is a Lecturer in the Hospitality Program based at our Kadina Campus. Nigel has grown the Food Safety program throughout the state due to a partnership he has built with local councils in conjunction with the Environmental Health Officers (EHO). Nigel delivers this training at Council Offices to a variety of clientele including Volunteers involved in preparing and distributing food, shop owners, hospital and aged care workers. Whatever the group he is able to contextualise the content to make it meaningful to the student. His flexibility, integrity, enthusiasm, disciplined work ethic and high teaching standards has set a new level of teaching excellence within TAFE SA.

Excellence In Teaching Finalists Excellence In Teaching Winner

L to R: Nigel Plaskett, Jenni Edsall, Sue Light, Paul Triglau

Ms Jen Rodger, Executive Director Education TAFE SA presenting Nigel with his award


Peoples Choice Award Winner

Tom Quigley was the winner of the inaugural People’s Choice Award. Tom is pictured receiving his award from Robin Murt, Chief Executive TAFE SA.